EDOLA logo

About The Episcopal Diocese of Louisiana

The Episcopal Diocese of Louisiana was established in 1839 and is part of The Episcopal Church. We are one church, faithful to our Lord Jesus, united in mission, reaching out through service and proclamation to all for whom Christ died. We live in joyous expectation of God’s transforming power, compassion, and mercy in our lives. All are welcome!

Our boundaries are made up of the the 24 civil parishes in the southeastern portion of the State of Louisiana. Our diocese is comprised of over 17,000 Episcopalians;  48 worshiping congregations; a conference center, the Solomon Episcopal Conference Center;  16 diocesan and parish day schools. Our cathedral, Christ Church Cathedral, is located in New Orleans. Our bishop is the Rt. Rev Shannon Rogers Duckworth.

Learn more about the Vision and Mission of the Episcopal Diocese of Louisiana.

About The Episcopal Church & Province IV

The Episcopal Church is comprised of between two and three million worshipers in approximately 7,500 congregations across the United States and outlying U.S. territories, as well as diocese across the globe. The Episcopal Church is part of the worldwide Anglican Communion.

The Episcopal Diocese of Louisiana is one of the twenty ecclesiastical districts making up Province IV, also known as the Province of Sewanee, located in the southeastern states of Alabama, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, North Carolina, Mississippi, South Carolina, Tennessee, and parts of Louisiana.

The Culture of South Louisiana

From the costumes and parades of Mardi Gras to the fertile farmlands, Louisiana is blessed with an unmatched cultural and natural richness. Its art, music, literature, and ethnic diversity are known the world over. Louisiana is also well-known for its bountiful resources of fish and wildlife, forests, swamps, and saltwater marshes that give way to the open waters of the Gulf of Mexico.

South Louisiana’s multicultural and multilingual heritage is strongly influenced by a cross-pollination of 18th century European, Caribbean, Central and Native American, French, Spanish, German, and African cultural traditions and values. The language, customs, and beliefs of the people of the Episcopal Diocese of Louisiana resemble our mouthwatering gumbos which are a staple item on the menus of many of our award-winning restaurants—we are a steaming bowl of highly seasoned ingredients, each retaining a strong sense of their individual heritage and origins, but blending together to produce one savory mixture.

South Louisiana boasts incredibly delicious foods, zydeco music, Cajun and Creole cultures, rabid football fans and the most gracious people you will ever meet. Baton Rouge, the state capital, is home to our flagship university, LSU; and Southern University, one of the premier historically black land grant colleges in the nation. New Orleans is the epicenter of all things fun and bizarre, and has a thriving film industry as well as tourist economy. In between our two largest cities, you will find sleepy bayous, antebellum mansions with magnificent gardens, and families that have been settled for generations.

1623 Seventh Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone: (504) 895-6634
Fax: (504) 208-3511

Copyright ©2023 |  The Diocese of the Episcopal Church of Louisiana