Episcopal School Commission

Function of the Episcopal School Commission

There shall be an Episcopal Schools Commission in the Diocese of Louisiana, whose purpose shall be to further the mission of the church through education in her schools. The commission shall be comprised of The Bishop, one representative appointed by the board of each member school, and such additional members as are appointed by The Bishop. Appointed members shall serve three-year terms and may serve consecutive terms. The Bishop shall serve as chair of the commission and may appoint a vice chair. The executive committee of the commission shall be comprised of The Bishop, the representatives of the Diocesan schools, and four additional members appointed by The Bishop to staggered two-year terms from among the commission members.

The duties of the Commission are to establish guidelines and standards for the establishment, recognition and certification of any and all Episcopal Schools now or in the future operating within The Diocese and to provide a network of support for them. The Commission shall not serve as a governing or academic accrediting body with respect to Episcopal Schools. (Canon 27)

Members of the Episcopal School Commission

Christ Episcopal School, Covington: John Murray

Episcopal School of Baton Rouge: Dr. Carrie Steakley

Grace Episcopal Preschool, St. Francisville: Kristen Triche

The Little School of St. Martin’s, Metairie: Renee Hemel

St. Andrew’s Episcopal School, New Orleans:  Kathryn Fitzpatrick

St. Augustine’s Preschool, Metairie: Joline LaCoste

St. James Episcopal School, Baton Rouge: Bridget Henderson

St. Luke’s Episcopal School, Baton Rouge: Chuck Hoots

St. Martin’s Episcopal School, Metairie: Whitney Samuel Drennan

St. Matthew’s, Houma: Tom Soudelier

St. Paul’s Episcopal School, New Orleans: Charleen Schwank

St. Timothy’s Preschool, Laplace: Kathy Giovingo

Trinity Episcopal School, Baton Rouge: Marsha Palmer

Trinity Episcopal School, New Orleans: The Rev. Gary Taylor