EDOLA logo

80th General Convention Deputies

The General Convention is the governing body of The Episcopal Church. Every three years it meets as a bicameral legislature that includes the House of Deputies and the House of Bishops, composed of deputies and bishops from each diocese. The General Convention also includes Interim Bodies which meet between the triennial sessions to accomplish ongoing work and tasks set in the triennial sessions. The last session of the General Convention was in Austin, Texas in July of 2018. The next session of the General Convention will meet in Baltimore in 2021.

House of Bishops

  •  The Rt. Rev. Morris K. Thompson, Jr.

House of Deputies

Deputies Clerical Order

  • The Rev. Fred Deval (St. Martin’s, Metairie)
  • The Very Rev. Tommy Dillon (St. Margaret’s, Baton Rouge) 
  • The Rev. Liz Embler-Beazley (St. Paul’s, New Orleans)
  • The Rev. Canon Shannon Duckworth (Diocese of Louisiana) – Chair

Alternates Clerical Order

  • The Rev. Gina Brewster-Jenkins (St. Paul’s, New Orleans) – 3rd Alternate
  • The Rev. Joey Clavijo (St. George’s, New Orleans) – 4th Alternate

Deputies Lay Order

  • Bailey Alexander (St. John’s, Thibodaux)
  • Carolyn Harris (St. Luke’s, New Orleans)
  • Dorothea Suthon (St. Augustine’s, Metairie)
  • David Warrington (St. James, Baton Rouge)

Alternates Lay Order

  • John Musser, IV (Trinity Church, New Orleans)
  • John Sikes (St. James, Baton Rouge)


1623 Seventh Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone: (504) 895-6634
Fax: (504) 208-3511

Copyright ©2021 |  The Diocese of the Episcopal Church of Louisiana