EDOLA logo

182nd Convention of the Episcopal Diocese of Louisiana

The 182nd Annual Convention of the Diocese of the Episcopal Church of Louisiana was held November 1-2, 2019, at Christ Episcopal School, Covington.

Read the invitation to the 182nd Annual Convention from Bishop Thompson.

2019 Convention Book


Bishop’s Address to the 182nd Annual Convention

Text of the address


Actions Taken by the 182nd Annual Convention

Elected to Offices

Secretary of the Diocese

  • Marsha Wade (St. James, Baton Rouge)

Treasurer of the Diocese

  • Alan Brackett (Christ Church Cathedral, New Orleans)

Standing Committee, Clerical

  • The Rev. Morgan MacIntire (Christ Church, Covington)

Standing Committee, Lay

  • Jennifer Johnson (Trinity Church, Baton Rouge)

Executive Board, Clerical

  • The Rev. Chris Golding (St. Luke’s, Baton Rouge)

Executive Board, Lay

  • Nancy Hubbard (St. James, Baton Rouge)
  • Tom Oliver (St. Paul’s, New Orleans)

Disciplinary Board, Clerical

  • The Rev. Stephen Crawford (St. Mary’s, Franklin)

Disciplinary Board, Lay

  • Dave Foster (St. Margaret’s, Baton Rouge)
  • Ed Wallace (St. Martin’s, Metairie)

Sewanee Board of Trustees

  • Christina Vial Comer (St. Andrew’s, Paradis)

General Convention Deputy, Clerical

  • The Rev. Fred Devall (St. Martin’s, Metairie)
  • The Very Rev. Richard Easterling (St. George’s, New Orleans)
  • The Very Rev. A.J. Heine (St. Augustine’s, Metairie)
  • The Rev. Canon Shannon Manning (The Episcopal Diocese
    of Louisiana)

General Convention Alternate Deputy, Clerical

  • The Rev. Liz Embler-Beazley (St. Paul’s, New Orleans)
  • The Rev. Tommy Dillon (St. Margaret’s, Baton Rouge)
  • The Rev. Gina Brewster-Jenkins (St. Paul’s, New Orleans)
  • The Rev. Deacon Joey Clavijo (St. George’s, New Orleans)

General Convention Deputy, Lay

  • Bailey Alexander (St. John’s, Thibodaux)
  • Carolyn Harris (St. Luke’s, New Orleans)
  • Dorothea Suthon (St. Augustine’s, Metairie)
  • David Warrington (St. James, Baton Rouge)

General Convention Alternate Deputy, Lay

  • John Musser (Trinity Church, New Orleans)
  • John Sykes (St. James, Baton Rouge)


One resolution was submitted from the floor of Convention and received a two-thirds majority of the members to be heard.
Resolution R1
Purpose: Care of immigrants detained in LA prisons
Referred to: Resolution Committee
Action: Passed


Courtesy Resolutions

Courtesy Resolutions 2019


  • Addiction Recovery Ministry

Keynote Speaker & Mission Stories

Mary Foster Parmer, Director of Invite Welcome Connect

Born and raised in the deep South, Mary Parmer is a congregational development consultant/coach, speaker, and retreat leader living in Sewanee, Tennessee. She serves as Director of INVITE WELCOME CONNECT, a transformational ministry of evangelism and hospitality now housed at the Beecken Center, School of Theology, University of the South. Mary is the past Director of the Gathering of Leaders, a national leadership gathering of young Episcopal clergy.  Mary has served as a Lay Deputy to the the past four General Conventions of The Episcopal Church, and she currently serves on the Task Force on Clergy Leadership Formation in Small Churches (GC 2015-A045).  Mary holds a degree in Religious Studies from St. Edwards University in Austin and formerly served as Director of Adult Ministries & Evangelism, St. Stephen’s, Beaumont. She has two grown children and six young grandchildren, builds stone labyrinths, and spends her time away from the office hiking and reading memoirs.

Mary Parmer’s personal call to work with congregations in newcomer ministry is borne out of her spiritual gift of exhortation (encouragement), her love of people, and her passion for welcoming the newcomer and empowering the laity. Mary’s passion is helping congregational leadership understand the importance of personal invitation, welcoming folks, hearing their story, recognizing their gifts, and then connecting them to ministry. Mary believes that the ministry of the laity is best carried out when individuals discern their own spiritual giftedness and then are empowered and equipped to live into their baptismal covenant by offering their individual gifts and talents to God.


Workshop: Invite Welcome Connect

A free workshop was held on Friday, November 1 during registration from 12:30 – 1:30 p.m. It was held in the gym and led by Mary Foster Parmer, director of Invite Welcome Connect.


Mission Stories:

  • Christwood Retirement Center by the Rev. Steve Holzalb
  • St. Michael’s, Mandeville, by the Rev. Robert Beazley
  • Diocesan Youth by the Rev, Jane-Allison Wiggin-Nettles
  • Advent House
  • Racial Reconciliation Committee by the Rev. Liz Embler-Beazley
  • Community Mission Appeal by the Rev. John Pitzer
  • Sewanee by the Rev. Ralph Howe
  • Jericho Road by Nicole Barnes
  • Diocesan Stewardship Consultants by the Rev. Tommy Dillon
  • The Solomon Episcopal Conference Center by Tanja Wadsworth
  • Episcopal Church Women
  • Environmental Commission by Deacon Joey Clavijo



  • Amelia Kate Thompson and Elizabeth Burris, Christ Episcopal School High School Music Ministry

1623 Seventh Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone: (504) 895-6634
Fax: (504) 208-3511

Copyright ©2020 |  The Diocese of the Episcopal Church of Louisiana | Login