179th Convention of the Episcopal Diocese of Louisiana

179th Annual Convention website cover w shadow


The 179th Convention of the Diocese of the Episcopal Church of Louisiana was held November 4 & 5, 2016 at St. Martin’s Episcopal School, 225 Green Acres Rd, Metairie, LA.

View Photographs of the 179th Annual Convention

Read the Bishop Address to the 179th Annual Convention

Listen to the Mission Stories – Addiction Recovery Ministry

Listen to the Mission Stories – Flood Recovery in the Diocese


179th Convention Theme – Grace & Addiction: Saved by Grace

“For by grace you have been saved by faith” Ephesians 2:8

The Addictions Recovery Ministry is a specialized ministry of the Episcopal Diocese of Louisiana as well as a local affiliate of the Recovery Ministries of the National Episcopal Church. This ministry reaches out on behalf of the Church to welcome recovering people into the Episcopal community and also helps recovering Episcopalians find a home within the organized Church. The Recovery Ministry works within the diocese to provide education, guidance and support for families and parishes struggling with, or wishing to learn more about, addiction. The term “addiction” includes a relationship with any activity or substance which interferes with healthy functioning – alcohol, drugs, relationships, sex, work, gambling or food for example. Our desire is not to be dogmatic or exclude anyone in their spiritual search but to live out the acceptance and love taught by Jesus.

The Addictions Recovery Ministry (ARM) provides an avenue for exploring recovery in a Christian context in addition to other 12 Step and professional recovery programs. The ministry hosts quarterly Celebrations of Life in Recovery, monthly Eucharists incorporating the 12 Steps, and two annual recovery-oriented retreats as well as providing resources to the people and churches of the diocese.


Guest Speaker: The Rt. Rev. Porter Taylor

porter-taylorG. Porter Taylor served as the sixth bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Western North Carolina from Sept. 18, 2004 – October 1, 2016. He grew up in Asheville North Carolina, earning his B.A. in English from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, his M.A. in English from the University of South Carolina, and his Ph.D. in theology and literature from Emory University. He received his M.Div. from The School of Theology at Sewanee and served at St. Paul’s Episcopal Church in Franklin, Tennessee.

Before his call to the Holy and Sacred Order of Bishops, he served seven years as rector of St. Gregory the Great Episcopal Church in Athens, Georgia. He is the author of To Dream as God Dreams: Sermons of Hope, Conversion, and Community, and From Anger to Zion: An Alphabet of Faith. He is married to Jo Taylor, an artist and research nurse. They have two children, Arthur & Marie.

179th Annual Convention Budget & Reports

179th Annual Convention Nominations & Elections

Secretary of the Diocese

  • Marsha Wade – Elected

Treasurer of the Diocese

  • Les Bradfield – Elected

Standing Committee – Clergy

  • The Rev. Rob Courtney (Elected)
  • The Rev. Tommy Dillon
  • The Rev. Mitch Smith
  • The Rev. Edward Thompson

Standing Committee – Lay

  • David Cramer
  • Julio Figueroa (Elected)
  • Joel Web

Executive Board – Clergy

  • The Rev. John Craft (Elected)

Executive Board – Lay

  • Penny Dralle (Elected)
  • Shirley Young

Sewanee Board of Trustees

  • Jason Akers (Elected)
  • Maggie Devine
  • Carol Magendie
  • Charles Williams

Disciplinary Board – Clergy

  • The Rev. Stephen Crawford (Elected)

Disciplinary Board – Lay

  • George Bond
  • Thomas Forbes
  • Dave Foster (Elected)
  • Nicolle Hammill (Elected)

General Convention – Clerical Order

  • The Rev. Sharon Alexander (Elected – First Alternate)
  • The Rev. Tommy Dillon (Elected – Second Alternate)
  • The Very Rev. Richard Easterling (Elected Deputy)
  • The Very Rev. A.J. Heine (Elected Deputy)
  • The Rev. Harry Jenkins
  • The Rev. Peter Kang
  • Deacon Charmaine Kathman
  • The Rev. Doug Lasiter
  • The Rev. Ann Maxwell (Elected Deputy)
  • The Rev. Edward Thompson (Elected Deputy)

General Convention – Lay Order

  • Lindsey Ardrey (Elected – Deputy)
  • Carolyn Harris (Elected – Deputy)
  • Nancy Murray
  • John Musser (Elected – Deputy)
  • Freddy Perriott
  • Ed Starns (Elected – Deputy)
  • Ann Ball (Elected – First Alternate)


[ws_table id=”7″] 

Copyright ©2019 |  The Diocese of the Episcopal Church of Louisiana | Login

Pin It on Pinterest