General Convention

The 79th General Convention Information

General_Convention-e1335972761430-150x150The 79th General Convention of the Episcopal Church will be held July5-13, 2018 in Austin, Texas, at the Austin Convention Center. The General Convention is the governing body of the Episcopal Church. The Convention is a bicameral legislature that includes the House of Deputies, which has more than 800 members, and the House of Bishops, which is comprised of nearly 300 active and retired bishops. The Convention meets every three years and has the authority to amend the Constitution and Canons of the Episcopal Church; adopt the budget for the church for the next three years; authorize liturgical texts and amend the Book of Common Prayer; adopt communions and covenants with other churches; set qualifications for orders of ministry and office-holders; elect officers of the General Convention, the Executive Council, and members of boards; and delegate responsibilities to the committees, commissions, agencies, and boards of the Episcopal Church.

Learn more about General Convention / Follow the action:

  • General Convention Website:
  • Orientation videos from the Presiding Bishop Michael Curry and the Rev. Gay Jennings, president of the House of Deputies, and other materials here:
  • Illustrated booklet on how General Convention works from the Diocese of Texas:
  • The list of resolutions here and the Virtual Binder (follow the legislative process) here
  • How a resolution moves through General Convention. Below graphic courtesy of the Episcopal Church in Connecticut:

Worship (Watch Live from General Convention)
Social Media

Our Deputation

The deputies from the Episcopal Diocese of Louisiana were elected by the 179th Convention of the Diocese of the Episcopal Church of Louisiana in 2016. Meet the Louisiana deputies.


  • The Rev. Sharon Alexander, Trinity, Baton Rouge
  • Ms. Lindsey Ardrey, St. George’s, New Orleans
  • Mrs. Ann Ball, All Saints’, River Ridge
  • The Very Rev. Richard Easterling, St. George’s, New Orleans
  • Ms. Carolyn Harris, St. Luke’s, New Orleans
  • The Very Rev. A.J. Heinie, St. Augustine’s, Metairie
  • The Rev. Anne Maxwell, Christ Church, Covington
  • Mr. John Musser, Trinity, New Orleans


  • The Rev. Tommy Dillon, St. Margaret’s, Baton Rouge
  • Mr. David Warrington, St. James, Baton Rouge
What is a General Convention Deputy?

Deputies are not delegates; that is, they are not elected to represent the electing dioceses, but are free to vote their conscience on the legislation before them for the good of the Church. They hear testimony, engaging in debate and prayer, and they cannot be instructed to vote one way or another. To expect a deputy to vote a certain way would preclude godly debate and preempt the work of the Holy Spirit. (From 78th General Convention of the Episcopal Church)

More information:

General Convention Resolutions by the Big Topics

All resolutions to General Convention can be found here.



1623 Seventh Street
New Orleans, LA 70115

Phone: (504) 895-6634
Fax: (504) 208-3511

Copyright ©2018 |  The Diocese of the Episcopal Church of Louisiana | Login

Pin It on Pinterest